

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs



November 18, 2008 Release #08-102 SCDCA Media Contact: Maria Audas, 803.734.4296 1.800.922.1594 (toll free in SC) Email: <u>scdca@dca.state.sc.us</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SCDCA Announces Guidelines for 2009 Consumer Spirit Awards Program

Columbia, SC..... The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs is now accepting nominations for the 2009 Consumer Spirit Awards. The Awards are presented annually to recognize individuals and organizations that empower South Carolinians through consumer protection and education initiatives. All individuals, organizations, and businesses are encouraged to participate. Nomination forms are available online at <u>www.scconsumer.gov</u>.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, January 5, 2008. Winners will be honored at a ceremony later in the Spring to commemorate National Consumer Protection Week. Awards will be given in the following categories: Organization Leadership Award, Governmental Excellence Award, the Media Partnership Award and the Dublin-Robinson Consumer Champion Award.

Judging criteria is as follows:

- Strategy: The nominee must demonstrate knowledge of and solutions for consumer needs.
- Execution: The nominee must complete their strategy honestly and professionally.
- Originality: The nominee must implement creative, innovative methods to help consumers.
- Results: The nominee's efforts must directly benefit South Carolina consumers.

Winners of the 2008 Consumer Spirit Awards include **Daniel Seamans**, Anchor, WOLO-TV, ABC Columbia; **Mary Riley**, Chief of Staff, South Carolina Senate Banking and Insurance

Committee; **Sarah Leverette**, Columbia; **Bill Smith**, Columbia; **Shred 360**, Chapin; and **Drive Safe**, Columbia. For more information, contact the Public Information Division at 803.734.4190, toll free in SC at 1.800.922.1594, or online at <u>www.scconsumer.gov</u>.

11-13-08/ajb