

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs



May 17, 2010 Release #10-017 SCDCA Media Contact: Maria Audas, 803.734.4296 1.800.922.1594 (toll free in SC) Email: scdca@scconsumer.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SCDCA ANNOUNCES NEW CHAIR OF COMMISSION ON CONSUMER AFFAIRS

and

NEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Columbia, SC.....The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs is pleased to announce the newest members of the Commission on Consumer Affairs. Clifford Ray Keasler (Surfside Beach), Terrell A. Parrish (Greer), Magaly Penn (Simpsonville), and Johnny E. Sosebee (Piedmont) were elected recently during a joint session of the South Carolina General Assembly.

Keasler was employed as an officer for the SC Highway Patrol for 25 years. He also served in the Army National Guard from 1969-1998. He is currently the manager of Strand Storage Center.

Parrish is an engineer and employed as a project manager by CMC Cary Engineering in Greenville, SC.

Penn has worked as a Diversity Resources Director for Burger King Corporation and BI-LO, LLC. She is currently a consultant for BI-LO, LLC in Greenville, SC.

Sosebee has worked in the Insurance field and was employed by the SC Reinsurance Facility until its elimination by statute in December of 2009.



During the May 12th Commission meeting, David Campbell (pictured on left) was elected to serve as chair. Campbell, President and CEO of Chernoff Newman (Columbia), has served as a member of the

Commission on Consumer Affairs since 2005. The Commission unanimously welcomed him as chair and subsequently elected Carole C. Wells (pictured on right) (Woodruff) as vice-chair.

About the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs:

Established by the Consumer Protection code in 1974, The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs represents the interests of South Carolina Consumers. Our mission is to protect consumers from inequities in the marketplace through advocacy, mediation, enforcement and education. For more information, visit <u>www.scconsumer.gov</u>. The Department recognized the service of retiring commissioners Dr. Lonnie Randolph, Barbara League, Tony Macomson, and Louis Mayrant in a brief ceremony prior to the meeting. For more information on the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs, contact the Public Information Division at call 803-734-4296, toll-free at 1.800.922.1594, or visit us online at <u>www.scconsumer.gov</u>.

> - 30 -05-17-10/mla